Quilts to dye for

Let me introduce myself.  I am a textile artist, quilter and dyer.  My passion is making quilts, mostly art to hang on the wall, and occasionally – quite often in fact – I get distracted to do some dyeing,  I love colour, lots of it and the brighter the better.

Sunrise

View from Flowerpot to Bruny Island

 Home is Flowerpot, a lovely rural spot in southern Tasmania, overlooking D’Entrecasteaux Channel and Bruny Island.  My husband of 44 years, Ted, is passionate about  collecting and restoring vintage machinery. Our children and grandchildren are spread around the globe, which gives us plenty of holiday destinations.

My quilting life began nearly 30 years ago, when I went to a beginners class in patchwork, and I was hooked.  I hadn’t made many quilts before I realised that I didn’t enjoy making copies of traditional quilts that had been made many times before but with different fabrics and colour schemes, I wanted to create my own … and so I did…..

Now, when I am not designing or making quilts, I am in my wet studio, dyeing up a storm – sometimes a new batch of cotton fabrics or whatever happens to be around at the time and other times some more silk scarves to sell at the next market.  No two scarves or pieces of fabric are the same, colours may be alike, but the patterns appearing are quite different.

This is my first attempt at blogging.  I kept putting off having a go because I thought it would be hard to write about myself, but I seem to have rambled on quite a bit already.  I am also getting started on a website to show off my quilts and scarves very soon.  I’ll keep you posted.

Comments are closed.