Jacket class

Making the fabric for this jacket seems to take forever, along the way you learn a lot about colour and colour theory.  For instance, Barbara wanted a green jacket, and had added a couple of reds, pinks and cream with several medium greens.  Strips laid out on the table

looked very pink this way,

and very  red and cream this way,

but very green when all sewn together, it’s all in the placement of the accent strips which brings it all together. 

Next lesson the jacket will be put together and quilted lining added.  Here are my samples for these classes.  Each time I take this class I end up with a new vest or jacket (most do get finished).

This one is very much a stash buster, and has turned out quite  pink.  So I have cut out a vest and the applique is a deep maroon with a touch of orange.

And I can make a bag with left overs and the practice applique.

The colours of the fabrics  are a lot brighter in real life.

So I’m off to the sewing room to get my homework done, and I can look out the window at the garden while I work.  Of course the sun came out after I had taken this photo.

Comments are closed.