‘Cold’ revealed

Well, what a week it’s been.  First there was Compass Quilters on Friday, when we all produced our Cold art works.

Lyn's winter poncho

Alison's cold coloured hot water bottle

Helen's blue water quilt top

Wendy's painting of Kingston from the water

Lauree's Antarctica

Dorotea's icebergs and jug of iced water

My cold snowflake fabric

Our next challenge is to be ‘hot’ – due in the middle of summer !  Wonder what we’ll all come up with this time.

I finally collected my new sewing machine – an Elna Q7200 – which has a lovely large throat for feeding large quilts into.  Should be a bit easier to use and gentler on my body than my 20 y.o. Bernina 1230 – but I’m not going to part with that one, it’s the best machine I have used for freehand machine work.

So of course, any spare moments I’ve had this week have been playing on the Elna and finding out what it can do.  And the first quilt to practice quilting with is a small cot quilt for a friend’s baby.

Sunday was the first market for the summer at Woodbridge.  I have a good spot for my stall at the end of a row, and a bit extra on a second table.  I needed the extra space to display my scarves properly, as well as everything else I took with me.

Lots of people and I made a few good sales. 

And a nice surprise in the mail this week, the latest edition of Studios magazine, always plenty of interesting articles with tips and hints for your creative space.

2 responses to “‘Cold’ revealed

  1. Hi, your stall looks good, very inviting… i wanted to look closer and see what was there.
    I love your snowflake material, could you make some more for me… please?

    Like

  2. The stools featured on the front page of the studios magazine look a lot like Artek 60 or E60 stool. Designed by Alvar Aalto in 1933. Classic

    Like