Quilt Show

This was Thursday morning sunrise, before the river fog got too thick, a good start to the day.  By the time I left for Launceston later in the morning, of course the fog had completely disappeared and it was a brilliant sunny day, just right for a 3 hour drive up the Midlands Highway.

Launceston is where the Tasmanian Craft and Quilt Fair is being held this weekend.  Lots of very lovely quilts to see.  The Best of Show for 2011 can be seen here.  The quilt is more yellow cream than the photo shows though.  It is a really lovely quilt.

I entered my Landfall 3 in the Pictorial section, and I’m thrilled to have won a Third Prize with it.

Landfall 3

It is quite a small quilt, about A2 size.  This pic was taken before I added the sailing ships on the horizon, black pen drawings.

Of course the Craft Fair was great for shopping with those businesses we don’t have in Tassie, that we usually have to use mail order for our supplies.  It is always a pleasure to meet face to face with the voices on the other end of the phone. 

I managed to do one workshop in the afternoon, making a journal cover using table napkins.  Very attractive when finished and dried.  I’ll show you later what I did, when I can get a photo of it.

Did you watch the wedding last night, wasn’t Kate a lovely bride, and don’t they make a very handsome couple.  Those little bridesmaids and page boys were so delightful and very well behaved, I’m sure it was the solemnity of the occasion.

 
Comments are closed.