Scarves and quilt classes

My, hasn’t the year gone quickly, it’s the end of August already.  That should mean the end of winter, but the weather still has a lot of antarctic feel about it.

We’re off to Perth W.A. tomorrow, initially for my DH to attend a vintage machinery rally (where I hope to sell some of my scarves at the “other part” of the rally) this weekend, and after to explore the south west corner of the state for a week or so – should be good.  And maybe we might get to see some of the West’s famous wildflowers while we’re there.

This last weekend, I spent in Hobart doing Helen Godden’s classes – 4 in the Raw, and Walk on the Wildside – wonderful 3 days, came home very inspired.

Walk on the Wildside class result, Helen at the back.

These are my results, neither of them completed, time to finish them when I get back from WA.

4 in the Raw - falling autumn leaves

Walk on the Wildside - Mother giraffe and baby

Click on the picture to see the machine quilting, it is black thread on my hand dyed fabrics.  I was a bit nervous about using black, as normally I would have used, say for this project, a light coloured thread and variegated to completely blend in to the background.  I really like the result, so will most likely use black again. The texture thread on the giraffes is a gold metallic Madiera.

I’m still knitting the CanCan scarves, as they are proving very popular.  They are for sale for $25 each plus postage (I use Express Mail in Australia, for 2 reasons – it is quick and reliable, and can be traced if it is delayed or goes astray).  Email me (sue@quiltstodyefor.com.au) if you would like one of these great scarves.

CanCan scarves

I have other colours – a variegated purple, variegated blue (yummy colour), deep purple, bright fuschia, and a multicolour, all about 1.5m long but will stretch out to about 2m.

2 responses to “Scarves and quilt classes

  1. Very impresssed with your giraffes. ‘WOW’ for the quilting.
    Have a great time in WA. See you after Oct 8 when I return from mainland.

    Like

  2. I’ve made a rash statement about having it finished (laugh) in time for the next guild meeting – 2 days after we get home !!
    Weather definitely warmer here than either Hobart or Melbourne. Enjoy your holiday too.

    Like