Woodbridge Market and silk scarves

Sunday, I was back to the Woodbridge Market after a two month absence.  All the usual stalls were there, and Albe’s pumpkin soup and sausage rolls for lunch, Mmm…  We , the stallholders, have the same table position each market, and I have the long table facing the front door, and I can see all the visitors who come in as well as out the door and across the street to the Woodbridge Village Store.  Yesterday the car parking spot outside the store was occupied  by four legs instead of four wheels –

The horse was fairly tall, and the teenagers riders were seen to climb on to the horse’s back by first climbing onto the shop window sill  🙂 and attracting the interest of passersby.

Over the past couple of weeks, I have been dyeing lots of cotton fabric using a different dye and technique – I’ll have some pictures and the story when I have finished ironing and cutting up.  As well I’ve been stamping and stencilling many of my silk scarves.

While in Bunbury, west Australia, I found this large Indian woodcut block –

Indian woodcut

which prints out a very fine line design –

In Perth, I went to visit Dale Rollerson’s Thread Studio – a veritable Alladin’s Cave of just about every thing you think you might need for your textile art work and more – ( very easy to empty the wallet) –  where I bought some DeColourant and DeColourant with colour.

I used this on some scarves with some new and old stencils –

This 2-tone green scarf wasn’t very appealing, so I stencilled a gold scribble first –

and then added a dark blue-green animal skin or sunray  type spiral over the top –

now it’s much more interesting don’t you think?

Meanwhile out in the garden –

Bumblebee busy in the red pelargonium

and the blue bee bush – I can never remember the correct name for this bush – is in full bloom.

5 responses to “Woodbridge Market and silk scarves

  1. Once again wordpress and facebook are not talking to each other, I hope the link has now been fixed.

    Like

  2. the bee bush is called an echium …i love this plant .. its quite amazing in how large it grows and then dies down in winter … did you know it also comes in white? … enjoyed traipsing across your pages … nice work ! >> Gina

    Like

  3. Thank you for posting your beautiful work! I am beginning my own art experiments with silk dyes and quilting, and I am so glad you took the trouble to show examples of your work. They are truly inspiring. Thanks!

    Like

    • Hi Amanda, I haven’t had much success with silk painting using gutta or other resists. I think my silk was too fine and the paint too ‘watery’ to get a good result. After reading your blog, I might try again with a heavier silk and different paints.

      Like