More natural dyeing and book covers

A beautiful start to the day yesterday

October sunrise

and these bright orange ranunculi were brilliant in the sunshine.

Then imagine my surprise when I was emptying the bucket of sludgy plant material left over from the natural dyeing workshop, and a bundle came out amidst all the leafy stuff.  The colour in the photos is very blue, whereas in fact it was almost like black ink.

Surprise bundle

When it was unwrapped, it was amazing, after all this time – nearly 3 weeks – some of the leav es were still green.  The colour was really quite interesting, varying shades of grey with touches of brown and green.

Unwrapped

This is what was in the bundle, half a dozen rusty lids belonging to Trace Willans (sorry Trace I will return them to you), and the small branches of eucalypt leaves, still intact although a bit mangled by their being squashed in the parcel.

Plant material & rusty lids

After carefully rinsing out the fabric, this is the result, the branch of leaves can be seen quite clearly.

Natural dyed silk dupion

I am going to have another session dyeing with leaves this weekend and this time I will do the painting with egg technique – the results others got with the egg painting were much clearer impressions than those without the egg.  Ros was wearing her leafy t-shirt yesterday when a number of us girls got together for lunch in Hobart, and it looked great with her green cardi.

This afternoon, I made a start on my book covers for this summer.  I dug out a few pieces of Indian woven silk

Indian silk scraps

added some stabiliser and cut out rectangles

Fabric and stabilser

stitched round all four sides with my favourite fancy stitch, then turned in the ends and stitched them into place, the thread is very dark red and the bobbin very dark grey, and neither show on the photo.

ends turned in and stitched

inserted the book, in this case a small lined notebook, and there is a very neat covered book.

Finished cover on book

3 responses to “More natural dyeing and book covers

  1. It is ok Sue you can keep the rusty bits. I won’t be taking any of them home with me. Good to hear Ros is wearing her art in public. Would love to see a photo. x te

    Like

  2. Thank you Trace, and I’ll mention it to Ros. The local shopkeeper at Woodbridge is going to keep the bits from the bottom of the onion bag for me next time he buys them. Then I’ll see what I can get from dyeing with them.

    Like

  3. Trace, one question, should the coloured area from slices of avocado stone be a bit stiff, when he rest of the silk is very soft ? It is a lovely soft apricot colour with deeper coloured marks from the stone.

    Like