Quilting Bee for Bushfire Relief

Last week, I sent out invitations to some of the quilting groups I belong to, to help make quilts for families who had lost their homes in the bushfires. The plan was to work in my studio on the days I was there.
Tuesday, about 10 ladies came and went during the course of the day, bringing fabrics to donate, and taking home a bundle with enough to make a particular quilt.

This is the table of donated fabric after the ladies had left – there’s still quite a few quilts in these piles

Fabrics in quilt piles

Fabrics in quilt piles

Already I have a couple of tops returned to me, and one group has promised to come back tomorrow with whatever they have made.

I am making one for a young girl. I started with these fabrics

DSCN6797 fabrics ready to piece

Pieced contrast strips to squares

DSCN6798 piecing blocks

Ready for the iron

DSCN6805 finished blocks before ironing

Layout without any sashing

DSCN6816 second layout

Because the blocks are small, I have made them into 4-patch before the sashing.  Here I am trying out the dark pink plain – it’s not as red as the photo shows –

DSCN6820 layout dark pink sashing

then tried them out on this pink –

DSCN6819 layout pink sashing

and decided this one was softer and prettier, the dark pink was a bit too overpowering for the pastel blocks.

Tomorrow, I finish sewing and add the top to the pile I hope I have ready for quilting – a quilting friend with a longarm has kindly offered to do the quilting for us.

There are a lot of very generous people about when it comes to helping with disaster relief programmes.

My thanks to you all for helping and caring.

One response to “Quilting Bee for Bushfire Relief

  1. Kerry Black

    Hi Sue, That is certainly a beautiful looking pile of fabric you have there. Look forward to catching up soon. > Kindest regards Kerry Black

    Like