A new day, a new year, a new …

Here it is 2014 already, my special year, and the calendar is fairly busy already.
This time a year ago I promised myself that I would do something about my UFO collection. All was going well, until those disastrous fires down at Dunalley, south east Tasmania … and for the next three months I was busy (with several friends helping) making quilts for some of those left homeless. After that I hardly sewed a thing of any importance, my life was taken up with overseas travel, being web manager for the quilting guild, and dyeing silk scarves to build up some stock for the Deloraine Craft Fair, and for lime gallery of Salamanca where they are mostly going now.
I am again looking to do lots of stitching and quilting, making a serious dent in that UFO pile. The one I am working on at the moment, I admit, I started a couple of weeks ago. It needs a plain border, narrow and purple, and then it will be ready for quilting.

purple quilt

purple quilt

Then I will get back to this one – the quilting lines already marked with a white pen, which hopefully has not become permanent on the fabric waiting for me to sew and remove.

Tunnel quilt

Tunnel quilt

And the Black Holes quilt – which I don’t have a current photo of –

Black holes before embellishment

Black holes before embellishment

and my red quilt which is waiting for a silhouette to be appliqued on it –

Red quilt

Red quilt

I decided it was time to change the look of my blog, with a new header and layout, what do you, my readers, think?

Happy New Year to everyone πŸ™‚

4 responses to “A new day, a new year, a new …

  1. Happy New Year Sue. Good plan for the year, I’m not even that far advanced.

    Like

  2. Thanks Judy, here’s hoping I can keep up the momentum a little longer this year πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Sue, I love you blog. Hoping to have more time this year for my quilting etc. I retire from work on the 15th March but go on long service leave on the 7th February. Cant wait!!

    Like