Striped batik bargello

Over the last little while, fabrics I ordered last November at the Quilt Market in Melbourne have begun to arrive.
This one is from Batik Australia in Queensland, and is one of their striped batiks which lend themselves perfectly to be a background fabric for applique or to become a one fabric bargello.

Striped batik colour Sky

Striped batik – colour Sky 30

Using this fabric, I decided to design and make my own bargello.

Cutting 2.5m from the bolt,  I then cut out strips across the fabric, in widths from 2″ to 3″, then down to 1″ and back up to 3″, then down to 1″ again, and so on, finishing with a 2″ strip about 50 in total.

Cutting into strips across the fabric

Cutting into strips across the fabric

The strips were carefully pinned in order onto the wall so it looked like the original fabric.

Carefully pinned on wall

Carefully pinned on wall

Then moved carefully strip by strip a couple of inches in an up or down direction to create the design.

Strips moved up and down

Strips moved up and down

The hallway is too narrow to view the whole quilt from the doorway opposite.  A sideways view down the hall gives a better idea of the design. The blurred lines where the colour changes on the fabric give it a very soft shadow look to the lines.

Viewed from side

Viewed from side

Then when stitching the strips together, I made sure that each strip was exactly 2″ up or down from the previous, as you would if actually matching seams in a traditionally made bargello design.

First section sewn, looks quite different

First section sewn, looks quite different

In the dim area of the hallway, the stitched design has an almost tartany look to it.  This is 23 strips sewn,  not quite half way – the 2.5m will have shrunk a lot by the time I finish.

Then to decide how I can end up with a rectangle – I have a couple of  ideas on this – one very simple, and I end up with a small quilt or go with the more complicated design and be much larger – decisions, decisions …  I do want a large quilt with this one, so … I’ll keep you posted.

I’m still smiling (I think) 🙂

P.S. Bargello patterns to use with Batik Australia’s fabric are designed by Christine Forrester. I have the Twin Peaks pattern available for sale, along with the fabric. Email me for details.

One response to “Striped batik bargello

  1. Diana Rayward

    Hi Sue. Love the Bargello . Not yet learned this technique but looks like a simpler way than I have seen before. Hope to pay you a visit next month when we are again housesitting for the Manners in Gordon. Do you have ThreadWorx threads? I bought some last year whilst in Tassie but can’t remember if it was when I visited with you. How is the new building coming along? Looks good on your blog. See you in June. Happy stitching, Diana Rayward .

    Like